can't change the tab size

Questions on using RText should go here.

Moderator: robert

can't change the tab size

Postby pmsl » Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:48 pm

no matter in version 1.2 or 1.3, the tab size always 5, i can't change it. who can help me?

in 1.3, i can't open the options dialog! should i install another software?
pmsl
 

Re: can't change the tab size

Postby robert » Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:35 pm

Changing the tab setting, and opening the Options dialog, both seem to work for me in 1.3. What OS are you running on?

Can you check to see if you have a file named "uncaughtRTextAwtExceptions.log" in your home directory (e.g. "C:\users\userid" on Windows, or "~/userid" on *nix)? If you do, can you send me the contents?

Thanks!
User avatar
robert
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 5:16 pm

Re: can't change the tab size

Postby pmsl » Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:35 am

my OS is Windows XP, java 6
in 1.2, i changed it to 4, and it works, but next time i run rtext, the tab size not 4, it still 5.
so does the directory in general panel.

when i click the options menu in 1.3, nothing happens, just the file named "uncaughtRTextAwtExceptions.log" be created.
here is the contents of the file:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="GBK" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE log SYSTEM "logger.dtd">
<log>
<record>
<date>2010-11-23T09:03:45</date>
<millis>1290474225781</millis>
<sequence>0</sequence>
<logger>org.fife.rtext</logger>
<level>SEVERE</level>
<class>org.fife.rtext.AWTExceptionHandler</class>
<method>handle</method>
<thread>10</thread>
<message>Uncaught exception in EDT</message>
<exception>
<message>java.lang.NullPointerException</message>
<frame>
<class>org.fife.rtext.plugins.langsupport.PerlOptionsPanel</class>
<method>setValuesImpl</method>
<line>413</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>org.fife.ui.OptionsDialogPanel</class>
<method>setValues</method>
<line>392</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>org.fife.ui.OptionsDialogPanel</class>
<method>setValues</method>
<line>394</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>org.fife.ui.OptionsDialog</class>
<method>initialize</method>
<line>347</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>org.fife.rtext.actions.OptionsAction</class>
<method>actionPerformed</method>
<line>72</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javax.swing.AbstractButton</class>
<method>fireActionPerformed</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler</class>
<method>actionPerformed</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel</class>
<method>fireActionPerformed</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel</class>
<method>setPressed</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javax.swing.AbstractButton</class>
<method>doClick</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI</class>
<method>doClick</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI$Handler</class>
<method>mouseReleased</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI$MouseInputHandler</class>
<method>mouseReleased</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.Component</class>
<method>processMouseEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javax.swing.JComponent</class>
<method>processMouseEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.Component</class>
<method>processEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.Container</class>
<method>processEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.Component</class>
<method>dispatchEventImpl</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.Container</class>
<method>dispatchEventImpl</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.Component</class>
<method>dispatchEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.LightweightDispatcher</class>
<method>retargetMouseEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.LightweightDispatcher</class>
<method>processMouseEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.LightweightDispatcher</class>
<method>dispatchEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.Container</class>
<method>dispatchEventImpl</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.Window</class>
<method>dispatchEventImpl</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.Component</class>
<method>dispatchEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.EventQueue</class>
<method>dispatchEvent</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.EventDispatchThread</class>
<method>pumpOneEventForFilters</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.EventDispatchThread</class>
<method>pumpEventsForFilter</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.EventDispatchThread</class>
<method>pumpEventsForHierarchy</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.EventDispatchThread</class>
<method>pumpEvents</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.EventDispatchThread</class>
<method>pumpEvents</method>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.awt.EventDispatchThread</class>
<method>run</method>
</frame>
</exception>
</record>
</log>

thanks for your help!
pmsl
 

Re: can't change the tab size

Postby robert » Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:15 am

Aargh! You found a terrible bug, thank you! It seems you don't have Perl installed, correct? The Options dialog will never come up if you don't have Perl installed, because it checks your PATH for a Perl installation, and basically forgets to do a null-check if one isn't found. Thus you're getting an uncaught NullPointerException.

I just made a fix; please go download RText 1.3.1 from SourceForge and see if the Options dialog comes up with it. It should also fix your issue where the tab size change isn't remembered from one RText session to the next.

Again, let me know if you see any more issues with the 1.3.1 release!
User avatar
robert
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 5:16 pm

Re: can't change the tab size

Postby pmsl » Wed Nov 24, 2010 7:52 am

Thank you, robert!
As you said, i have no Perl.
I just tried, the options dialog can be opened now, and i can change the tab size too.
It is really gratifying!

however, it seams there is a another small issue.
Just like the tab size, the directory(in "Edit - Options - General - New Files"), it can work in next session, but, when i open the Options dialog, the textbox after the directory label is blank. Each time i setting other options, i have to reset it.
I hope that it can be fixed in the next release.

RText is really an excellent editor!

Thank you very much!
pmsl
 

Re: can't change the tab size

Postby robert » Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:58 am

The default directory for new files not being remembered will be in the next RText release, 1.4.0. Thanks for the bug report!
User avatar
robert
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 5:16 pm


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron