Slash Character in RTextArea

General Discussion on RSyntaxTextArea.

Moderator: robert

Slash Character in RTextArea

Postby thomas » Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:31 pm

Hi,

I am a developer at Institut Pasteur and I'm working on a plugin for our software Icy: http://icy.bioimageanalysis.org/

I am actually developing a script editor based on your nice libraries autocomplete and rsyntaxtextarea (very good job, they are amazing) with the latest SVN version. However, I found a weird issue : I cannot use the '/' character inside an RTextArea (and by extension, RSyntaxTextArea). I tested with a very simple example, but it does not work either.

I am working on an AZERTY keyboard, I have no idea if that changes anything.

By the way: I had a few issues with the integration of AutoComplete library in my software, I don't know if I should post another post about it or not?
thomas

Re: Slash Character in RTextArea

Postby robert » Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:57 pm

Hi Thomas,

Yes, the slash character unfortunately broke for some folks with 2.0.5; you can use 2.0.4 for the time being until I get a fix out.

With Linux machines (English locale, querty keyboard), there was an issue where using the "comment lines" action (ctrl+/ by default) would fire both the comment-lines action, as well as the default "insert a / character" action. This looks to be because of a difference between Linux and Windows/OS X as far as keyTyped vs. keyPressed key events, and what is used to actually insert a "/" character when typing.

The fix that was put into 2.0.5 for this was to edit RsyntaxTextAreaDefaultInputMap to change the KeyStrokes for the slash-related actions, to force them to be identical across all OSes, and also to make them work across all OSes (Windows, Linux, OS X, even tested Solaris). Unfortunately, this was all done on English locale, querty system setups. I evidently broke folks in other environments by doing this. :(